Friends

We drink our wine in garden green

and talk our words with laughter lined.

Held in heart a sadness lies

– it slows my laughs and weighs my smiles –

for what we have, and never will.

But here, today, I’m yours, you’re mine.

We clink our plastic cups and cup

the painful red that binds us.

 

And what are we to do, my friend,

with all these silver word-webs?

I’d say it’s up to you, but then,

we’d both know that’s a lie.

 

And what are we to do, my friend,

with all these silver word-webs?

I’d say let’s weave a shimmering cloak

and wear it, just tonight.

 

We sing our songs with notes unplayed

and spin our sounds from thoughts unsaid.

Stood in past our spirits touch

– they know the future bids them part –

for one brief moment, soon forgot.

But now, tonight, we laugh, we dance.

We clink our brimming glasses, drink

the bitter gold that soothes us.

 

Leave a Reply

